Reviews

Weekend break for two - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, the room was very clean and bright. The hotel provided information about local bars and places to get food which was very helpful. Breakfast was lovely each morning. We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts and had a lovely weekend break:)

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review Maeve.We\'re glad you enjoyed your weekend and hope things are going well for you both back at college.Kind regardsJane & Martin

Reviewer:Maeve scanlan | Mon 18th Sep 2017


Perfect stay.- Rating 5/5

Once again it was a real pleasure to stay at the Daylesford. Jayne and Martin are very welcoming the rooms are extremely clean and decorated to a high standard. And the breakfast is fantastic. Will definitely be returning.

Response

Thanks Neil & Karen, much appreciated.Looking forward to your next visit.Cheers, Martin & Jane.

Reviewer:Neil Savill | Sun 27th Aug 2017


Daylesford hotel - Rating 5/5

Managed to secure a room at really short notice. Room was excellent, hotel was exceptionally clean, breakfast was lovely. Martin and Jane were very friendly and accommodating of all aspects of our stay. Would highly recommend to anyone and when in Torquay I hope to stay here again. 10\\10 excellent....

Response

Higuys.Thank you so much for the great review and we really appreciate it.Hope you return some day.Kind regards, Martin & Jane

Reviewer:Richard Thomas | Fri 25th Aug 2017


Highly recommend this B&B - Rating 5/5

We stayed at this B& B for 3 nights in August and highly recommend it.The hosts Martin and Jane, we so welcoming and couldn\'t do enough for you - from the breakfasts they serve being very high quality, lovely comfortable stylish accommodation to putting lots of personal touches into your stay.It was my fiance\'s 50th birthday week and on our last morning they surprised him and the other guests with with bucks fizz, homemade cupcakes and even put on his favourite music.They made it a great getaway for us at a fantastic price.

Response

Thank you so much for this lovely review, we really appreciate it. We were glad paul enjoyed his birthday weekend.Kind regards Martin & Jane

Reviewer:Liz Noble Bekker | Tue 15th Aug 2017


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Excellent food excellent B and B excellent hoasts 12 out of 10

Response

Thank you very much for the review.12/10 for your review skills. :-)Cheers, Martin & Jane

Reviewer:Kate Whatmore | Mon 14th Aug 2017


A very pleasant stay and perfect hosts - Rating 5/5

Met with a very warm welcome from Martin & Jane, fresh coffee and home made a cake when we arrived. Excellent breakfasts. The room was lovely,very clean and fresh. It is the perfect place to stay for a few days away.

Response

Thank you very much for the review.It is most appreciated.Perhaps we\'ll see you both again one day.Kind regards Martin & Jane

Reviewer:Donna Haney | Sat 12th Aug 2017


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Jane and Martin are charming and attentive hosts who made us very welcome. Their home is very comfortable and spotlessly clean, truly a home from home. We would not hesitate to recommend Daylesford to anyone visiting Torquay.

Response

Thank you so much for the review.We hope to see you again one day.Kind regards Martin & Jane

Reviewer:John Benson | Fri 7th Jul 2017


Best weekend away - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time. Jane and Martin made us feel really welcome. We were greeted with tea and homemade cake that was delicious. The room was extremely clean and the breakfast was excellent especially the home made yogurt.

Response

Hi Neil & Karen.Thanks so much for the review.It means a lot to us both.We hope to see you again when you get down to Torquay.Cheers Martin & Jane.

Reviewer:Neil Savill | Tue 4th Jul 2017


Torquay travels - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome was given on arrival with coffee and cake,perfect.A fantastic place clean,quiet and so close to all attractions in Torquay.The breakfast range was superb and the cooked breakfast was amazing.Our room was spotless as was the en suite.Martin and Jane are perfect hosts and have thought of all the little extras which make your break that bit more special.

Response

Thank you for your kind words Carole;it was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again should you be in the area.RegardsJane & Martin

Reviewer:Carole Cavanagh | Tue 30th May 2017


Beautiful Top Notch Guest House - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Daylesford before and it never fails to please. Martin and Jane are very friendly and kind, and made us very welcome right from the start. Tea and cake was offered on arrival which was much appreciated after a long journey. They served excellent breakfasts with a good choice of cereals, yogurts and fruit as well as a cooked, full English and continental breakfasts. The room was lovely and comfortable, with a nice comfortable bed, ensuite facilities with a good-sized walk-in shower, and it was all immaculately clean. Tea and coffee facilities in the room were much appreciated, as was the TV and hairdryer. We would highly recommend this as a perfect place to stay!

Response

Thank you so much for this wonderful review Janice;your kind words are much appreciated.It was lovely to see you and Steve again and we look forward to your next visit in June.Kind regardsJane & Martin

Reviewer:Mrs. Janice King | Mon 1st May 2017


the daylesford - Rating 5/5

Friendly very clean outstanding breakfast . Will be top of our list next time we visit torquay

Response

Thanks for this great review Janice and we would love to see you again when you\'re next in Torquay.Kind regards Martin & Jane

Reviewer:Janice Brookes | Mon 24th Apr 2017


Attending a conference- Rating 5/5

Jane and Martin were welcoming, friendly and helpful. They have a lovely place which is well equipped and attention to detail. Good breakfast and all needs catered for. Would return if in area.

Response

Dear Lillian.Thank you for this wonderful review.We would love to see you again if you visit Torquay again.Kind Regards Martin & Jane.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lillian King | Mon 3rd Apr 2017


Everything Perfect - Rating 5/5

Jane & Martin are wonderful hosts. They value their guests, treat people as individuals and are very friendly and helpful. Even offer drinks and home made cakes on arrival. The Daylesford is beautifully decorated,and gives a peaceful atmosphere. Everything is spotless. The bedrooms are wonderful, the beds are extremely comfortable.The breakfast is tailored to anyone\'s tastes and needs. The choice is extensive and plenty of whatever you chose.There are too many little \'extra\'s\' that Jane & Martin provide to list.We had a wonderful stay and happy memories. We would highly recommend and intend to return.We would like to thank Jane & Martin for their generous hospitality.

Response

Hi Diane.It was so nice for us to return from a short break to find this wonderful review.It was great to have you both stay with us and share your hapy recollections of your past times in Torquay.We really do hope you re-visit us at some point and we look forward to seeing you again.Regards Jane & Martin.

Reviewer:Diane Hailey | Sat 12th Nov 2016


Fabulous Hotel can\'t fault it - Rating 5/5

We received a warm friendly welcome, were shown to our room and the amenities. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the comfort of the room and how it was laid out. Received excellent information when we asked about local restaurants, walks and things to do. The breakfast at the Daylesford is one of the best breakfasts we have ever eaten. A good choice, cooked to order and served quickly with a smile.We highly recommend The Daylesford hotel to anyone, it was a most enjoyable stay.

Response

Thank you so much for the great review.It was apleasure to meet you both and we do so hope you decide to visit again in the future.Cheers.Martin & Jane.

Reviewer:Ms. Georgina Hitchman | Tue 25th Oct 2016


Wonderful top class B&B - Rating 5/5

Superb B& B. Home from home. Jane & Martin make guests very welcome. Room 5 was very comfortable. Tea and cake offered on arrival which was a nice touch.Make sure you are hungry for breakfast, there is plenty of it.We had a wonderful stay and will definately be back.

Response

Hi Lyn.Thank you very much for this great review.We really appreciate it.We\\\'ll keep the kettle on the boil for your return!.Best wishes Martin & Jane.

Reviewer:Lyn Flower | Tue 18th Oct 2016


Great stay - Rating 5/5

lovely people, immaculately clean and comfortable, will definitely stay again

Response

Hello Rosa.Thank you for the great review.We do really appreciate it.We hope you return to Torquayone day.Regards Martin & Jane.

Reviewer:Rosa Fearria | Fri 30th Sep 2016


Best of the Best - Rating 5/5

The Daylesford made you feel welcome from the moment you arrived.Close to Torquay it was an excellent choice for a 2 night stay in the beachside Town.The hosts couldn\'t do enough to make your stay memorable with loads of hints about where to see and where to eat.Breakfast was the best that we had at all of the b& b\'s we stayed at in Ireland and England.Would stay here again next time we travel to Torquay.

Response

Hi Yvonne.Thanks for the great review.We really appreciate it.We hope you visit us in Torquay again one day.Cheers Martin & Jane.

Reviewer:Yvonne Mullins | Mon 12th Sep 2016


Perfect just perfect - Rating 5/5

Arrived early and we could check in immediately. Our room was spotlessly clean and Martin and Jane treated us as individuals rather than just a room number. The breakfast was superb, Try the home made yoghurt gorgeous. We will definetely stop again.

Response

Thanks so much for the great review - it means so much to us!Do come again and we\'ll put out some different flavoured yogurts for you both to try!Cheers Martin & Jane

Reviewer:Roy Abramowicz | Mon 29th Aug 2016


lovely stay in Torquay - Rating 5/5

we loved the very warm welcoming and our room for 3 was really nice.This BnB has been recommended to us and it will be a great pleasure to keep recommending it to friends and family coming to England.A pearl amongst the BnBs

Response

Thank you so much for this great review.It was a pleasure to meet you and thank you for your recommendations.Regards,Martin & Jane

Reviewer:Mr. Joël Hintgen | Wed 10th Aug 2016


Anniversary Weekend - Rating 5/5

Just come back from a lovely stay. Martin & Jane were lovely hosts, on arrival they were very pleasant and enquired about the reason for our stay. Which was to celebrate our wedding anniversary, which at breakfast on the Sunday presented us with a gift of decorated cupcakes.Which we were delighted with. Overall it was a lovely and enjoyable stay the breakfast was lovely and the room was very comfortable and clean.

Response

Thank you so much for the great review. It was lovely to meet you both and here\'s to the next anniversary!Best wishes Martin &Jane.

Reviewer:Joanne Jenkin | Mon 1st Aug 2016


The daylesford- Rating 5/5

Thank you for for your hospitality we both enjoyed our stay , very clean nice room made very welcome on arrival would definitely recommend stay again

Response

Thank you so much for the wonderful review - it really does mean a lot to us.Hope to see you again some day.Cheers, Martin & Jane.

Reviewer:William Loveridge | Wed 6th Jul 2016


Excellent accommodation, breakfasts and we were made to feel at home, would highly recommend it. - Rating 5/5

Martin and Jane where excellent hosts, the breakfasts where very well presented and extremely good.The accommodation was very comfortable.

Response

Thank you so much for the great review Pauline.We look forward to seeing you again soon.Regards.Jane & Martin

Reviewer:Pauline Reid | Sun 12th Jun 2016


Short break - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the daylesford for two nights our hosts Martin and Jane absolutely brilliant they couldn\'t have done anymore for us the hotel was spotlessly clean and food beautiful we would highly recommend it to everyone and will be returning again hopefully very soon

Response

Oh thanks so much for the wonderful review.It makes a lot of difference to us when people see comments like these.We hope to see you again quite soon.Kind regards Jane & Martin

Reviewer:Amanda Howell | Fri 3rd Jun 2016


Must visit!! - Rating 5/5

A beautiful b & b. The room we stayed in was very comfortable with delightful finishing touches. Breakfast was the best we have ever had, and we have travelled a lot. The owners were very kind, welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them.

Response

Thank you so very much for this wonderful review Ben & Anne.It was a pleasure to meet you and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.Regards Martin & Jane.

Reviewer:Chandruduth Bunoomally | Mon 30th May 2016


Mr - Rating 5/5

Excellent standard.Most hospitable and welcoming.The accommodation was very good and there was nothing that could be faulted.Will return when next in the area.

Reviewer:Peter Wardle | Tue 3rd May 2016


Weekend away - Rating 5/5

We have just spent a really enjoyable weekend at the Daylesford. Everything about this guest house needs to be seen to be believed, Martin and Jane who own the guest house are very pleasant and we had a lovely weekend in really comfortable surroundings. The breakfasts are delicious and we will definitely be returning.

Response

Thank you so much Tony and Bobbie for this fantastic review - and yes, we hope you do return soon.Cheers Jane & Martin

Reviewer:Anthony Smith | Mon 25th Apr 2016


Superb!! - Rating 5/5

This was our first trip to Torquay and our first stay at The Daylesford. On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome, tea/coffee and delicious home made cake, which was much appreciated after a long journey. The Dalesford offers quality accommodation and is immaculately clean. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed having en-suites, tea/coffee making facilities and so much more making it extremely good value for money! The owners Jane and Martin are very friendly, helpful and professional hosts and we were made to feel at home. The Breakfast is superb!The full English breakfast is perfect, but there is a refreshing variety of other choices for those whose waistbands have experienced too many breakfast wonders. If you are planning a trip to Torquay we would highly recommend a stay at The Daylesford - you will not be disappointed!A big thank you to Jane and Martin for making our stay a special one.We will be back soon ..... Janice, Steve, Kathy and Les xxxx

Response

Thank you so much for this wonderful review -it was a pleasure to have you all stay with us.We see you have re-booked for September and we are really looking forward to seeing all of you again.Martin & Jane x

Reviewer:Janice King | Tue 29th Mar 2016


DaylesfordTorquay - Rating 5/5

A great enjoyable 3 night stay at the Daylesford. Everything perfect as described and so clean, great attentive hosts, most comfortable bed have slept in guesthouse and the breakfast is so high quality. We will be back again in the summer hopefully to better weather.

Reviewer:Angelika Simpole | Mon 4th Jan 2016


Home away from home - only with a better breakfast! - Rating 5/5

We had a weekend break with our Scandinavian friends in Torquay. The Daylesford is ideally located for sight seeing - for instance various Agatha Christie related places. We all loved the immaculate setting at The Daylesford, also the friendly reception by Jane and Martin. Janes\'s homemade cake was excellent, and a very special thank you to Martin for excellent breakfasts. We\'ll be back!

Reviewer:Esa Mikkoen | Tue 27th Oct 2015


Best Bed and breakfast stayed in a long time. - Rating 5/5

Wonderful service, excellent breakfast, good comfortable bed, and very clean. Have no bad things to say about this place. We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return/ recommend.

Response

Thank you very much for this lovely review Carrie.We are glad that you and David enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you both again should you return.Best wishes Jane & Martin

Reviewer:Carrie Stenning | Tue 20th Oct 2015


Lovely hosts - Rating 5/5

Warmest welcome on arrival beautiful rooms. Bed was so comfy I didn't want to get out of if!! Breakfast was lush! Spotlessly clean can't say a bad word ! Will defo stay again and so would my friends xx

Response

Thanks very much for the review Rebecca.'The Brailey Bunch' are welcome anytime.Good luck to Lucy and we hope you all enjoy the wedding.M&J

Reviewer:Rebecca Brailey | Sun 15th Sep 2013


Very welcoming - Rating 5/5

Martin and Jane made us very welcome. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent with lots of choice. Location good, pleasant short walk into the town. We would definitely stay again and would recommend.

Response

Many thanks Vincent.It was a pleasure to meet you both and look forward to seeing you again.M&J

Reviewer:Mr. Vincent Sharpe | Sat 31st Aug 2013


Contact

The Daylesford
60, Bampfylde Road
Torquay
Devon
TQ2 5AY

Tel: +44 (0) 1803 29 44 35
Fax: +44 (0) 1803 29 26 35
info@daylesfordhotel.com

Hotel Facilities

  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays